Fox Orders 12 Episodes of ALCATRAZ

Alcatraz (fox)

Fox has given the green light for 12 episodes of J.J. Abrams television series ALCATRAZ, according to The drama is about the mysteries and secrets of Alcatraz, the most infamous prison of all time, and follows FBI agents and a female police officer as they track down a group of missing prisoners who disappeared thirty years ago only to reappear in the present.

Alcatraz stars Sarah Jones (Sons of Anarchy), Sam Neill (The Tudors), Jorge Garcia (Lost), Jason Butler Harner (Changeling), Jonny Coyne (Undercovers), Parminder Nagra (ER), Robert Forster (Heroes), and Santiago Cabrera (Heroes).

The pilot script was written by Elizabeth Sarnoff with Steven Lilien and Bryan Wynbrandt (Kyle XY). Sarnoff also serves as showrunner on the series and will executive produce with Abrams and Bryan Burk. Lilien and Wynbrandt will co-executive produce. Abrams’ Bad Robot Productions is producing this project with Warner Bros. Television.

Alcatraz begins filming in Vancouver BC next month.