Exclusive Preview of THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON During 2009 MTV Video Music Awards


[Press Release – Released by MTV]


Twilight Stars Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart & Taylor Lautner To Appear On The 26 th Annual Awards Show Airing Live From New York City On Sunday, September 13 at 9PM (Live ET/Tape Delayed PT)

New York, NY (September 2, 2009) –– MTV grants fans another exclusive preview of one of the most anticipated films and soundtracks of the year, The Twilight Saga: New Moon during the “2009 MTV Video Music Awards” on Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9PM (Live ET/Tape delayed PT). After revealing the film’s first trailer at the “2009 MTV Movie Awards,” the network will once again treat viewers to an expanded trailer from Summit Entertainment’s second installment from the widely popular Twilight series that opens in theaters November 20, 2009. The movie’s cast has also been confirmed to appear including Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart and Taylor Lautner. Also during the show, MTV.com will exclusively unveil “Meet Me On the Equinox,” the lead single off of the New Moon Soundtrack (available October 20, 2009) from VMA nominees Death Cab for Cutie.

As previously announced, comedian Russell Brand will host the show, and Beyoncé, Jay-Z, Lady Gaga, Green Day, P!nk, Taylor Swift and Muse are confirmed to perform. Katy Perry, Ne-Yo, Nelly Furtado, Chace Crawford, Leighton Meester and Miranda Cosgrove are confirmed presenters. Wale and the legendary go go band UCB are the official VMAs house band and will collaborate with artists including The All-American Rejects, Pitbull and 3OH!3. The “2009 MTV Video Music Awards” will air live on Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9PM (Live ET/Tape delayed PT) and on Sunday, September 20 at 5pm ET with Spanish subtitles on MTV Tr3́s.

MTV News and V CAST from Verizon Wireless are giving customers an All Access video pass to the 2009 VMAs, with an unprecedented inside look at the making of the biggest music event of the year. Verizon Wireless customers can sign up for VMA text alerts by texting VIP to 8911 to receive VMA news insider reports delivered directly to their Verizon Wireless phones.

Viewers can vote for general VMA categories, including “Best New Artist,” by visiting vma.mtv.com. Verizon Wireless subscribers also can vote by texting VMA to 97979. Voting begins Tuesday, August 4. “Best New Artist” voting continues through the show, live on September 13.

MTV, Pepsi and Rock Band™ have created a new category at this year’s VMAs, “Best Performance in a Pepsi Rock Band Video” that allows fans, for the first time, to win their very own Moonman. This summer, contestants entered their original Rock Band™ music videos, which fans voted on to select the ultimate winner. The winning band will travel to the “2009 MTV Video Music Awards,” walk the red carpet, receive their Moonman, and be featured in an MTV produced promotional spot airing the night of the show.

Shugoll Research and Telescope are the Official Business Advisors of the “2009 MTV Video Music Awards” Nominee and Winner Voting periods.

Jesse Ignjatovic/Den of Thieves is the Executive Producer for the “2009 MTV Video Music Awards.” Dave Sirulnick is Executive Producer. Garrett English is co-Executive Producer/Executive in Charge of Production. Amy Doyle is co-Executive Producer. Joanna Bomberg is Executive in Charge of Music and Talent. Jen Jones is Producer. Hamish Hamilton is Director. Robin Reinhardt-Locke is Celebrity Talent Executive.

Official sponsors of the “2009 MTV Video Music Awards” are 5 ® Gum, Febreze, Pepsi, Rhapsody ®, Sears, Taco Bell ®, U.S. Army and Verizon Wireless.

The “2009 MTV Video Music Awards” will be available to a potential viewing audience of more than 1.2 billion people via MTV’s global network of 68 channels reaching 577 million households around the world as well as through syndication. In addition, its convergent programming & content will reach the entire interactive community, via MTV’s more than 200 digital media properties around the world.